The Julien Dubuque Monument,
Mines of Spain State Recreation Area
Built in 1897, and overlooking the Mississippi River near the mouth of Catfish Creek, this monument houses the grave of Julien Dubuque, after whom Dubuque is named. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Julien Dubuque came to this area from Quebec, and received permission to mine lead from the local Mesquakie Indians in 1788. He received a land grant for the area known as "The Mines of Spain" from the Spanish government in 1796. His lead mining and trading operation eventually became very extensive. He was very popular with the Mesquakie, and married Potosa, daughter of the chief Peosta. He died on March 24, 1810. For an aerial view of the Julien Dubuque Monument, go to http://www.minesofspain.org/graphics/air_monumentlg.jpg>
This page was updated on May 10, 2002.